Skip to content

All-Grain #2 – APA (SNPA second attempt)

November 18, 2009

After the fun and frivolities of my first all grain effort, I have decided that this weekend I want to have another crack at the original recipe that I used for the first all grain, but this time with a bit more knowledge and a few well ironed out kinks. Given that the first attempt didn’t get me the result that I was intending, I really wanted another shot to prove to myself that I can learn from my brewing mistakes.

The recipe for this attempt has remained largely the same. I have kept all four malts that I used in the previous recipe and the same hop types following the same schedule. I have just decreased the amounts of all to bring it into line with my new and expected efficiency. Recipe as follows:

  • 3.2kgs JW Traditional Ale Malt
  • 0.64kgs JW Light Munich Malt
  • 0.34kgs JW Light Wheat Malt
  • 0.15kgs JW Pale Crystal Malt
  • 21g Pearle @ 90mins
  • 30g Cascade and 1/2 Whirlfloc @ 15mins
  • 20g Cascade @ Flameout
  • 20g Cascade Dry hopped in secondary
  • Proculture Sierra Ale Yeast – PRO 10 (Second Gen. – from previous brew)

Mash in @ 68°C, rest for 60min and batch sparge. Boil time is 90mins with the total volume in the fermenter to be 21L (hopefully! :))

UPDATE: Due to the distaster that was the brewday with this beer (see above post) I am temporarily holding off on brewing this beer until after the WSB brewday and caseswap….but it will be brewed! 🙂

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Great recipe please post how it turns out.

  2. flash_dg permalink

    Here’s hoping you get closer to your target OG 🙂

Leave a Reply

