Skip to content

Brew #5 – Paddo’s Fat Yak Clone (APA)

October 1, 2009

As the NSW 2009 christmas case swap draws near, I have decided to submit something nice and simple whilst still trying to do something a little more advanced than the last brew. Thus, I found a recipe on a fellow Western Sydney Brewer’s blog that looked really interesting and I thought I would give it a go.

The only problem was that this was an all-grain recipe and I am planning on getting a few more brews under my belt before heading there. So, my task was to convert this recipe to an extract one using specialty grains. After looking around I found some information on the Beersmith blog here.

So, I came up with the following recipe: 

  • 3kgs Liquid Malt Extract – Pale/Light
  • 0.35kg – Pale Crystal Malt (Steeped)
  • 5g Nelson Sauvin, 10g Cascade @ 45mins
  • 1/2 Whirlfloc Tablet @ 15mins
  • 10g Nelson Sauvin, 15g Cascade @ 10mins
  • 15g Nelson Sauvin, 15g Cascade @ Flame-out
  • 20g Cascade – Dry hopped in secondary
  • Wyeast #1272 – All American Ale

 Steep Crystal malt in 2L water – 66°C for 20mins. Add 1 can of malt extract pre-boil and 2nd at flameout.

Boil volume is 15L. Final batch size will be 25L (usually 21 but I want to have a few leftovers for myself after I distibute for the case swap. No starter made on account of the Wyeast activator pack being used.

O.G. = 1.042      F.G = 1.010       A.B.V = 4.7%

Fermented for 10 days @ 18°C, in secondary for 16 days @ 18°C.

Am very keen to see how this one goes – 1st time dry hopping.

Update – 4 November:

Due to time constraints, I wasn’t able to bottle this one  for a while after adding to secondary. I fear that this long in the secondary with the dry-hops may have lost some of the really nice cascade aroma I was after. Bottled into 750ml bottles and primed with dextrose. Will leave to carb and condition in brew fridge @ 18°C for a couple of weeks. Got 30 bottles in the end so I still have some to try myself before I swap the rest. 🙂

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. padden permalink

    Had a few of these last night Matt, and very nice indeed! A lot more hop flavour and aroma than the commercial but tastes great!

  2. this is definitely on my list to try….love fat yak

  3. I really appreciate the fact that you’ve made your own blog and have in fact publish your thoughts. I like your work and feel I can relate to what you’ve done. A lot of folks can’t even imagine having such talent. I hope that you know how lucky you are. 🙂 Good luck to you in all your aims. 🙂

Leave a Reply

